About the Past

Talking about the Past 1

Complete the sentences below using one of these verbs:

 

went ,ate, watched ,was ,came ,did, had ,drank ,heard ,walked

1. I missed the bus so I _________________ home.

2. I _________________ some cereal and toast for my breakfast.

3. Last week I _________________ to London for the weekend.

4. I _________________ you talking about my friend yesterday.

5. Last night I _________________ a film about space travel.

6. I didn’t go alone. My friend _________________ with me.

7. _________________ you enjoy the concert?

8. It _________________ raining this morning so I didn’t go out.

9. I _________________ two glasses of water before going to bed.

10. I went to the shop to see if they _________________ any postcards.

 

Check your answer:

 1. walked. 2. ate. 3. went. 4. heard. 5. watched. 6. came. 7. Did. 8. was.

9. drank. 10. had.

 

 

Talking about the Past 2

Complete the sentences below using one of these verbs:

 

went, laughed ,made ,was ,left, did ,had, tried, wanted ,cooked

1. I _________________ a really nice meal for my mum’s birthday.

2. My brother _________________ to come too, but he wasn’t allowed.

3. We all _________________ when Tina fell off her chair!

4. I think that we were _________________ for each other.

5. Kim and Charlotte _________________ the party at 1.40am.

6. He _________________ to call you but couldn’t get through.

7. I _________________ thinking of going to the coast next weekend.

8. _________________ you know that Tessa is getting married?

9. I went home after the concert _________________ finished.

10. My friends all _________________ to see the new exhibition in town.

 

 

Check your answer:

1. cooked. 2. wanted. 3. laughed. 4. made. 5. left. 6. tried. 7. was. 8. Did. 9. had.

10. went.

 


Past Events 

Complete the sentences below using one of these verbs:

saw, landed, arrived, joined, married ,crossed, stayed, born, met, left,

buried ,worked, became ,returned, promoted, murdered, departed ,hit

1. James Cook was ______________ on 27th October 1728.

2. He first ______________ as an apprentice to a shopkeeper in Staithes, N. Yorkshire.

3. He ______________ the Royal Navy in 1755, aged 26 years old.

4. He ______________ Elizabeth Batts on 21st December 1762.

5. He ______________ from his first voyage to Newfoundland as a surveyor in

November 1763.

6. He was ______________ to the rank of lieutenant in the Royal Navy in 1768.

7. He ______________ from Plymouth in the Endeavour on 26th August 1768.

8. The Endeavour ______________ at Tahiti on 11th April 1769.

9. Cook and his men ______________ at Botany Bay (in Australia) on 28th April 1770.

10. The Endeavour ______________ a coral reef, causing great problems, in June 1770.

11. Cook and his wife ______________ with his father in Yorkshire in December 1771.

12. Cook ______________ Plymouth in the Resolution for his second round-the-world

voyage on 13th July 1772.

13. The Resolution _____________ the Antarctic Circle for the first time in January 1773.

14. Cook ______________ ill as the expedition neared Easter Island in February 1774.

15. When he arrived back in England in the summer of 1775 he ______________ King

George III.

16. Cook ______________ the west coast of North America on 6th March 1778.

17. He was ______________ in Hawaii on Valentine’s Day 1779.

18. The remains of Cook’s body were ______________ in Kealakekua Bay on 22nd

February 1779.

 

Check your answer:

 1. born. 2. worked. 3. joined. 4. married. 5. returned. 6. promoted. 7. departed. 8. arrived. 9. landed. 10. hit. 11. stayed. 12. left. 13. crossed. 14. became. 15. met. 16. saw. 17. murdered. 18. buried.

 

Leave a Reply

