Test yourself by Using Personal Pronouns

 Using Personal Pronouns 1

 

Fill in the gaps using either ‘I’ or ‘me’:

1. Give that book to ________________ .

2. ________________ don’t like working in shops.

3. Does your friend know ________________ ?

4. ________________ and Ted are going out for lunch.

5. ________________ need to ask you something.

6. ________________ ’m a vegetarian.

7. ________________ was the first one to finish my exam.

8. This is a picture of ________________ and mum on holiday.

9. This is the house they showed ________________ .

10. Did you know that ________________ live in Manchester?

11. Jenny told ________________ that you went to London last week.

12. ________________ will see you soon.

13. Deepak is older than ________________ .

14. Call ________________ when you get there.

15. This is the house where ________________ was born.

Check your answer:

 1. me. 2. I. 3. me. 4. Me. 5. I. 6. I. 7. I. 8. me. 9. me. 10. I. 11. me. 12. I.

13. me. 14. me. 15. I.

 

Using Personal Pronouns 2

Fill in the gaps using either ‘he’ or ‘him’:

1. ________________ always goes home early on Tuesdays.

2. I asked ________________ for some help.

3. ________________ asked, “What’s her problem?”

4. ________________ was always a bit quiet.

5. That’s easy for ________________ to say.

6. Do you want to see ________________ now?

7. ________________ needs a new pair of shoes.

8. I think that ________________ is really selfish.

9. Can you ask ________________ ?

10. ________________ wasn’t very well last week.

11. ________________ put on his coat and went out.

12. Gillian gave the largest piece of cake to ________________ .

13. I love spending time with ________________ .

14. Everyone told ________________ to be quiet.

15. There’s something strange about ________________ .

Check your answer:

1. He. 2. him. 3. He. 4. He. 5. him. 6. him. 7. He. 8. he. 9. him. 10. He. 11. He.

12. him. 13. him. 14. him. 15. him.


Using Personal Pronouns 3

Fill in the gaps using either ‘she’ or ‘her’:

1. ________________ thought he was joking.

2. ________________ has got long hair.

3. I see ________________ on the bus every day.

4. John called ________________ at half past nine.

5. Sally’s sister gave ________________ a new jacket.

6. I know ________________ studies English.

7. ________________ ’s quite serious, isn’t she?

8. ________________ ’s not interested in geography.

9. That guitar belongs to ________________ .

10. Is ________________ going on holiday with you?

11. ________________ waited in the rain for half an hour.

12. I told ________________ that you can’t meet ________________ .

13. ________________ picked up the bag.

14. My neighbour said that ________________ wasn’t coming.

15. Ask my sister if ________________ saw him.

Check your answer:

1. She. 2. She. 3. her. 4. her. 5. her. 6. she. 7. She. 8. She. 9. her. 10. she.

11. She. 12. her, her. 13. She. 14. she. 15. she.

Using Personal Pronouns 4

 

Fill in the gaps using either ‘we’ or ‘us’:

1. ________________ aren’t interested.

2. Nobody told ________________ .

3. They don’t believe ________________ .

4. Will ________________ be able to meet up?

5. This is what ________________ wanted.

6. They saw ________________ walking down the road.

7. ________________ agree with you.

8. Tell ________________ what you mean.

9. ________________ hope that you enjoy yourselves.

10. Can ________________ tell you tomorrow?

11. ________________ don’t want to go out.

12. This puts ________________ in a difficult position.

13. That’s impossible for ________________ .

14. ________________ ’ll do what ________________ can.

15. Thank you for inviting ________________ .

Check your answer:

  1. We. 2. us. 3. us. 4. we. 5. we. 6. us. 7. We. 8. us. 9. We. 10. we. 11. We.

12. us. 13. us. 14. We, we. 15. us.

Using Personal Pronouns 5

 

Fill in the gaps using either ‘they’ or ‘them’:

1. I don’t know ________________ at all.

2. ________________ can’t hear you.

3. Ask ________________ yourself.

4. Who is that man with ________________ ?

5. ________________ went to the cinema with Linda and Rachael last night.

6. Please tell ________________ that ________________ are early.

7. Somebody wants to see ________________ .

8. I will put ________________ on the waiting list.

9. ________________ are at the football match.

10. Did ________________ see you there?

11. I’ve never heard of ________________ .

12. I want to invite _______________ , but I think ______________ are busy.

13. ________________ cut the grass, just like I asked ________________ to.

14. It was kind of ________________ to say ________________ would help.

15. What colour curtains do ________________ want?

Check your answer:

1. them. 2. They. 3. them. 4. them. 5. They. 6. them, they. 7. them. 8. them.

9. They. 10. they. 11. them. 12. them, they. 13. They, them. 14. them, they.

15. they.


Using Personal Pronouns 6

Subject pronouns

I

You

he

she

it

we

they

Object pronouns

me

you

him

her

it

us

them

 

Fill in each gap with either a subject pronoun or object pronoun:

1. Have you seen my dad? ____________ ’s wearing a red shirt.

2. Are ____________ going to finish your dinner?

3. I don’t like Christopher. ____________ really annoys ____________ .

4. Your bag is over there. Take __________ with __________ when you go.

5. We always go to bed early. Ten o’clock is late for ____________ .

6. Her shoes were dirty, so ____________ cleaned ____________ .

7. I’m going to the cinema. Do __________ want to come with __________ ?

8. My brother rang last night. __________ was great to talk to __________ .

9. Emily saw ____________ at the restaurant. They were having lunch.

10. The boy came up to ____________ and took my hand.

11. I don’t think the shop is open. ____________ usually closes at five thirty.

12. I showed ___________ my photos. He thought ___________ were boring.

13. “How much is that CD?” “____________ think ____________ ’s £11.99.”

14. Ben isn’t coming to see the film. ____________ ’s seen ____________ already.

15. It’s sunny today, isn’t ____________ ?

16. I went to see my aunt. ____________ was pleased to see ____________ .

17. It’s good to see ____________ all. Thanks for coming.

18. Lara’s boyfriend has broken up with ____________ . ____________ told ____________

that ____________ doesn’t love her any more.

19. ____________ were annoyed when their meal was late.

20. Adele said goodbye to her brother. She was sad to watch ____________ go.

 

Check your answer:

1. He. 2. you. 3. He, me. 4. it, you. 5. us. 6. she, them. 7. you, me. 8. It, him.

9. them. 10. me. 11. It. 12. him, they. 13. I, it. 14. He, it. 15. it. 16. She, me.

17. you. 18. her, He, her, he. 19. They. 20. him.

Leave a Reply

